Home

Published

- 4 min read

Announcement of Spowlo 2.0.0!

img of Announcement of Spowlo 2.0.0!

Let’s talk

Hi! It’s been a while since we don’t talk. Well, I’m back with some great news for you all, and as you may have seen in the title of the post, Spowlo 2.0.0 is coming soon!

And you are probably going to ask: But Gabriel… you said before that Spowlo is now going to be a YouTube Music client and downloader, what the hell are you saying now?

And yes, it’s true that I said that (and I keep it), but we all like updates, true? That’s why I decided to continue to work in the update that I have been working from 6 months until now with a brand new UI, artist downloading and a lot of more options that I want to add to make your experience better among with upgrades in the codebase and SpotDL implementation.

The actual state of the app

Spowlo nowadays is kind of unstable and we all know that (just take a look to the issues that the app has on GitHub), and it is a mess for you, but even more for me. Seeing the app crashing without any reason is not funny. I’ve been learning new things since then until now and I have put all my efforts to bring the update that is coming soon.

I want to ask you to don’t ask for an ETA (Estimated Time of Arrival) since it still requires a lot of work and fix crashes (that are just a few). The main problem that I’m facing is the Spotify API wrapper library that I’m using for handling the login, but gonna try to fix it in the best way I will found.

Things that I’m working on inside this new update

Well, there’s a lot of things that I’m working on. One of them, for example, is that I have made a lyrics downloader for those who want to have synced lyrics. Right here I am going to leave a list of features that the app has:

  • Lyrics downloader (and the embedding is experimental, meaning this that it doesn’t work or at least not the way we would like). I really recommend to use SongSync, a lyrics downloader from multiple sources. It can download the lyrics from your WHOLE LIBRARY in a really fast and efficient way!

  • Preview the music that you want to download! Don’t you wanted to download some song but you weren’t sure if it was the correct song? Well, now you can listen a 30 seconds preview provided by Spotify to be able to know if it is the one you want.

  • Check your profile most listened songs, artists and more! In the future we may add a section called “Your Library”, that will contain all that you have saved in Spotify, but it is just in our minds, not really planned to be implemented.

  • Improved UI. The app UI just had a new face wash with the latest Material 3 components. Also a in-app notifications system has been worked to forget that ugly toast messages of Android.

  • Improved performance and codebase. I’ve been working a lot in this app and in the process I’ve learnt a lot of things among good praxis , so the user can have a better experience in a fluently way.

  • Metadata inspection: Now you are going to be able to check your local songs information. It is still a work in progress but looking good.

  • And a lot of more things to come…

If you want to know more about the release, please, join our Telegram and I’ll be glad to tell you more about the update!

Thank you for making the dream of a teenager a reality. We are creating a very nice community that I really appreciate and with which I love to chat and share my time.

Related Posts

There are no related posts yet. 😢